My new life

Scripture: 2 Corinthians 5:17
“Therefore if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation: the old has gone, the new has come!”

Observation
Retelling in my own words:
So anyone who is born again and living in Christ is a new creation. The old life is gone, the new life has come.

Context:
Paul is saying that as Christians, we do not consider others from a human point of view but from God’s point of view. We do not rank others according to worldly standards, although we once did that (I think I still do). On the contrary, we should regard others according to God’s love because anyone and everyone in Christ is a new creation. Interestingly, this new life of freedom is to be lived for Christ alone and not to satisfy our desires. Also, we did not only receive a new life but the Ministry of Reconciliation.

Interpretation
An understanding of what Christ did for us reveals that we died with Christ and we resurrected with Christ but it is Christ’s life that is in us now; Jesus Christ is our life. Reasonably, we are dead and we are living a new life. The corresponding expectation is that I and for that matter any other Christian would use the associated freedom not as I want but to live it to God’s glory even as the Holy Spirit leads and enables me to obey God’s word in order to eventually learn how to live with Christ’s life. However, I seem to still be the same old me, the same old container with all its cracks and unworthiness only with a new substance, the power and righteousness of Christ through his life, my new life which makes me acceptable before God and possible for me to obey his commandments fully.

One sure way I can use this life to glorify God is to share the gospel with my friends, families, colleagues, everyone and to make disciples, who are taught to obey God’s word out of them and to grow together with them into Christlikeness. After all, God gave me the ministry of reconciliation just as he made me new.

Application
I will seek to be a disciple of Christ who understudies his master – Jesus Christ.
I will share my faith, the gospel with my colleagues in school and begin to make disciples for Christ Jesus.
I will begin to see others from God’s point of view and not according to worldly standards like status, background etc.

Prayer
Father, I thank you for such a beautiful opportunity to be your child and to have your life. Please, help me adapt to it willing at anytime and teach me to live as such for I cannot do it on my own due to my natural tendencies which do not always align with your will. Grant me strength and boldness to also share my faith with others and open my eyes so I can regard others from your point of view. Thank you for an answered prayer in Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

