…while I worship

God himself once spoke audibly to the hearing of man, “For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.” (Matthew 6:21, NIV). So as I stand among resplendently dressed individuals, lifting up my hands and singing out a worship song unto this same God, I fall on my knees and weep when I find myself singing the words, “You’re altogether lovely, altogether worthy, altogether wonderful to me. (Here I am to worship, M.W. Smith)”

Jesus knew what he was saying for I was his treasure so he, the holy God who cannot stand sin, even a tiny bit of it, came to me, on earth where sin abounded. It’s a wonder the earth still revolved round the sun in those thirty-three years and is still revolving. Whew! I seriously cannot imagine what could have happened but all the same he conquered sin; he dealt with it completely. He did not do it by causing the earth to diminish with just a snap of his fingers. No. He conquered it with a cry of anguish. He conquered with love. Why? I am his treasure. He came for one reason; to save and not condemn me (John 3:17). He considered me, an enemy at the time (Colossians 1:21), his friend enough to die for me.

By now, tears were streaming down my cheeks. I just could not understand “for God so loved the world that he gave his only son that whoever believes in his name shall not perish but have eternal life.” (John 3:16). What is eternal life? Eternal life is knowing God (John 17:3). Hahaaha, God is so great it takes eternity to know him. I sniff. Indeed, “the more I know you, the more I want to know you, (More of you, Sinach)” I sang.

As a Christian, I have the duty of seeking his kingdom first but where is my treasure? Is my treasure God himself? Forget the streets of gold and everything else for now. God never died for me to get gold but for me to be reconciled with Him so this is between God and I. So when God says I should not worry about my life, why all these doubts? Why do I think I would not have fun? Maybe somewhere within I feel God is a killjoy. Why do I think I can never relate with God? Maybe I don’t understand that he loves me so much that it covers my sins and that is why he died for me. Why do I think someway somehow I need a contingency plan in case God fails? That’s natural but I may have forgotten he has a track record of never failing in his dealings. Moreover, I mean more to him than the birds of the air he single-handedly cares for. I should then leave my life in his hands and trust that he’s got it all in control. I should just continue to abide in Him so I can share fully in his life (John 15:5).

A wise old king once penned, “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge him and he will make your paths straight.” (Proverbs 3:5-6). According to this verse, my contingency plan which may check out by all standards, is not one for me to lean on for it is still fallible someway, somehow.

Worship is almost over. I stand up on my feet again and while I sing, “thank you o my father for giving us your son and leaving your spirit till your work on earth is done. (There is a redeemer, Keith Green)”

See you later, the preacher is now behind the pulpit. The responsibility of abiding in Christ is a lifelong endeavour; a day-to-day endeavour, a moment-by-moment relationship with God and so I have to listen and meditate on his word so that I will be careful to do everything written in it (Joshua 1:8).

So long…
Remember, God Loves U!! (GLU)

Leave a Reply

