“Amazing grace (My chains are gone)” by Chris Tomlin

Sing with me…

My chains are gone
I’ve been set free
My God, my Savior has ransomed me
And like a flood His mercy reigns
Unending love, amazing grace

What a lovely song! The chorus always strikes a chord within. The fact that my ransom was the blood of Jesus Christ himself resonates with me over and over again. John Newton, author of the hymn, Amazing Grace, used the right adjective: AMAZING!! It does not take long for me to come to this same conclusion anytime I reflect on the story of God’s relentless efforts to reach out to man from the beginning till now and how He truly transforms those who receive and accept Jesus Christ.

I am also reminded that His love never ends, His love breaks barriers, His love extends to me no matter what I do or who I turn out to be and as His arrows of love travel through time and space, straight into my fist-sized, throbbing heart which has no hope of fully comprehending what pierced it, Amazing Grace steps in, catches me as I fall in love and leads me into the bosom of God’s presence where  I see Mercy who has just finished working on my legal papers. Nothing else, prevents me from being God’s  son, partner, brother and friend.

Tell me this is not just…AMAZING!

Here’s another rendition by BYU Noteworthy:


A prayer for Chris Tomlin

Father, I thank you for Chris Tomlin’s life and the grace you have made available. I pray you continue to work in him till you finish so he will be an example to us all. Thank you. Amen.


What ministers to you as you listen to this song? 

Leave a Reply

