“Lead me back” by Morgan Harper Nichols

Let us play with our imaginations.

Imagine you are sitting in one of life’s many vehicles: work, education, entertainment etc. It may be any form of a state or public transport or a private vehicle. Everyone in the vehicle is quiet, each in his or her own thought, a sharp contrast from when the journey began. Now it is obvious everyone is tired and just wishing they will reach their destination in the next minute. As for the passenger sitting next to you, well, that is up to you. For me, she is a nursing mother, staring out the window at the starless, black sky, with her two years old baby boy sleeping soundly in her arms with a smug smile. After pouring his cereal all over my jeans, the cheek of it! I also cannot get angry with him. We had some fun playing with his action figure toy and besides the mother makes up with her cheerful and apologetic personality. Next, we choose a time; day or night. I choose night.

Now the scene is set. No, one more thing, this song by Morgan Harper Nichols fills the vehicle with it soothing music.

I just close my eyes and take in each and every lyric, one at a time.

This song takes me back to the day I accepted Christ as my Lord and personal savior and you know what? It does not end there. Each and every moment I have to live as such and since it is by the amazing grace of Jesus Christ I am saved, then I do not expect to continue the journey on my own strength.

There are times such as now, when in the spur of the moment, I forget this truth and sneak out of the house without telling Jesus Christ where I am off to. I do not want to disturb him and I am too busy to pass by his room. It will only delay me but at the end, I am only stressed out. Fatigued. Confused. Just like now and it is at such moments, I throw in the towel, always. However, I am not hopeless. At this point, my spirit begins to sing along.

Break down every wall that I’ve been building
for a kingdom without truth
Tear down every lie that I’ve believed in
Let me come alive in You
For this world will slip away
Lord You will still remain
Lead me back to You

Since time immemorial, I realize God has always being saying the same thing.

You say
simply
“trust in
Me wholly”
Guiding
me slowly
I’ll give You what I can
I’ll hand You all I am

God just wants me to surrender every part of my life to him. He wants me to submit everything about me to him. From Abraham to the twelve disciples, it was the same but what about surrendering irks me? Why does it make me feel ‘insecure’ or is it that I do not fully understand the meaning of full submission?

I smell a lie. Somewhere within my reasoning, there is a lie which has crept in like a chameleon and camouflaged itself with the truth. I can only pray.

Break down every wall that I’ve been building
for a kingdom without truth
Tear down every lie that I’ve believed in
Let me come alive in You
For this world will slip away
Lord You will still remain
Lead me back to You

Day begins to break and as I expect, hope shows up. I see a church building ahead along the dusty and deserted road. Not exactly like those in the city but that will do. God is everywhere. I slowly, make my way down the aisle to the driver and point to the unassuming edifice. His look says it all. “Are you crazy? The journey is not over and you are not going to get a refund too so get back to you seat!” My resolute look also responds, “This is not the way I must go. I must follow the path my master wants. I took this bus because of a lie I believed in. Take the money but just allow me to leave the bus for I have to a destination to reach and it will not be the wrong one.”

Finally, I get off the bus with my stuff and take in a deep breath. The cool, morning breeze reward my respiratory tract for my decision to leave the bus. Without looking back to see the receding figure of the bus amidst the dust it leaves in its wake, I walk toward the church, through the open doors, down the aisle to the front. There, I throw all my stuff to the front and fall on my knees. With an assured smile, I pick my cell phone, call home and tell Jesus Christ to come for me and lead me back to himself. As I do so, I am filled with much conviction and with only one desire.

And as the sun shines on each day
let me rise and seek Your face

Break down every wall that I’ve been building
for a kingdom without truth
Tear down every lie that I’ve believed in
Let me come alive in You
For this world will slip away
Lord You will still remain
Lead me back to You


Prayer for Morgan Harper Nichols

Father, I thank you for the gift of writing and singing you have given to Morgan Harper Nichols. I pray you continue to bless it. I also pray you keep her to yourself forever and ever. Amen


Featured image credit: Gospelsound
Lyrics credit: Lead me back

Disclaimer
Copyrights to the song, its lyrics and the video do not belong to the Ministry of 
Reconciliation Blog. No copyright infringement is intended. This blog post is to
share what the song means to me.

How did you fare with the game?
What does the song bring to mind?
What emotions does it evoke?

MelodicMondays
© 2016 Ministry of Reconciliation Blog
2 thoughts on ““Lead me back” by Morgan Harper Nichols

Leave a Reply

