…about what it means when God says he loves us #2?

Revelations 3:19
“As many as I love, I rebuke and chasten. Therefore be zealous and repent.” (NKJV)

Yes, ‘the Amen, the Faithful and the true witness’ said that. Considering the context, he meant every word too. I remember finding it hard to believe my teachers back in primary school when they said they punished us because they loved us. Who says that? I now understand but I have to admit there were some who lost the essence of discipline that it became a meaningless endeavor so they seemingly produced worse results for the society to deal with instead. Their claim of love just sounded so cliché to my ears. However, for Jesus Christ, I better not make that assumption.

Uncle Paul expounds further. Looking at Jesus Christ who is our perfect example, we have not fought till the shedding of blood, at least not I, and yet we “have forgotten the exhortation which speaks to you as to sons: “My son, do not despise the chastening of the Lord, nor be discouraged when you are rebuked by Him; for whom the Lord loves He chastens, and scourges every son whom He receives.” (Hebrews 12:5-6, NKJV).

Wow, fathers discipline sons and that is exactly what God does: He deals appropriately with his loved ones. Remember John 3:16? I remember how God dealt with the nature of sin by death on the cross only that it was not us but Jesus Christ and so now we are righteous before God. See? God must have ticked that off on his to-do list. Now, he is working on our weights and entangling sins.

God has one goal and that is for us to partake of his holiness. Wonderful! No wonder he does what is necessary to achieve this. With regards to our entangling sins, it is discipline. Some of us need motivation in dropping those weights and entangling sins.

Moreover, God’s discipline eventually makes us his legitimate children. In heaven, there would be no thief, liar, cheat, murderer, rapist etc. Yes, they would be people who were once those things but in an old life. God disciplines a thief so that the light fingers become heavy enough to cause his hands to stick to his/her sides when he sees something glittering. Imagine, a thief walking on the streets of gold in heaven; as if stealing is possible in heaven, a home for the holy and righteous. There is no place for him/her!

There is this true story that resonates with me so much. I would call the main character Kofi. Kofi was severely disciplined for stealing money for school and he was in nursery school!. No one in the family had or has ever been subjected to such discipline as the one his father meted out on him. Now, he no longer steals and looking at the leadership position he has now, boy oh boy, I cannot imagine a thief as a trusted financial secretary. He even keeps and manages the finances of his colleagues. Now, he is an honest person in that regard.

Discipline, especially when done in love, its natural habitat, produces good results. Unfortunately, I did not have the grandfather who would discipline me after which he would offer a chocolate and explain why he disciplined me as was told in a story I heard. That is what God does out of his love for us and he gives us grace to move on.

No, it is not pleasant being disciplined. I didn’t find it amusing when my teacher in class three told me to kneel down in front of the class for tearing the pages of a girl’s new book. I even tore some for my friends when they asked. As if that was not enough shame for me, my crush looked at me and I felt like I had let her down. Ouch! Since then, I respected the belongings of others.

What do I do now? Jesus Christ say that I should be zealous and repent. Seriously? The next time I find my self going through some repercussions of say, laziness,  I would have to take it in good faith and with the grace and strength that God gives pull through and shun laziness altogether.

I hope you have similar thoughts too?

Featured image credit: Google images

 

2 thoughts on “…about what it means when God says he loves us #2?

  1. What a great concept! I remember writing in the margin of my Bible beside Hebrews 12:6: He loves me! I’m presently working to publish a book entitled Who Am I? about who we are in Christ. Some of the lessons in the book are published on my Inspirational Articles on my website. How awesome to know how much we are loved by the creator of the universe who wants to form us into His image! Thanks for this post.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It is a great pleasure and thank you very much for reading. Yes indeed, God loves us and it is one of the very first awesome truths we come to understand (about our identity) when believing in Jesus Christ! Looking forward to your book; it promises to be insightful for it is in Christ we find our identity as the songwriter puts it. I will surely visit your website to read some of the inspirational articles.

    Like

Leave a Reply

